ALERT - Visitation
YouTube icon image 

Rehabilitation Programs Division

Volunteer Services Program

2017 Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards

Crockett Man Receives Governor's Criminal Justice Administrator Award

Photo of Award Winner(s) From left to right: TBCJ Chairman Dale Wainwright, Keynote Speaker Judge Sharon Keller, Coffield Unit Warden Jeffrey Catoe, and TDCJ Executive Director Bryan Collier.

(AUSTIN) – Senior Warden Jeffrey Catoe of Crockett, Texas was presented the Criminal Justice Administrator of the Year award during the Governor's 2017 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award program today.

The award was presented by Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Dale Wainwright and TDCJ Executive Director Bryan Collier during a ceremony held in Austin.

"It takes a special kind of person to give of their time and expect no material reward," said Bryan Collier, Executive Director of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice. "The contributions these volunteers make are invaluable and have a lasting impact on the public safety of our fellow Texans."

"By giving of their time and their gifts as volunteers, these award recipients are helping build a better community not only for themselves but for everyone whose lives they touch," said Wainwright.

A 26-year veteran of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Warden Catoe oversees the Coffield Unit where he creates a good work environment and atmosphere for his staff. He is known for taking care of his employees in a fair and consistent manner so that they know exactly what to expect of him. He is fully supportive of all rehabilitative and re-entry programming at the Coffield Unit. He welcomes volunteers and places a high value on the chaplaincy, education and is receptive to new ways of doing things. Warden Catoe makes prison a great place to work with the opportunity for career advancement.

Warden Catoe is one of 12 individuals and 9 organizations from across the state recognized for their efforts to help inmates and those who are on parole or probation.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice extends its congratulations to Senior Warden Jeffrey Catoe of the Coffield Unit on being named Criminal Justice Administrator of the Year.

Note to media: For more information, contact Jason Clark, TDCJ Public Information Director, at 936-437-6052 or by e-mail at – For high resolution photos of award recipients, contact Jene Andersen at