Frequently Asked Questions
House Bill 2649
Diligent Participation Web Application
What is this application for?
With the passing of House Bill 2649 in the 82nd Texas legislative session, some state jail offenders may be awarded diligent participation credit by their sentencing judge. Any offender convicted of a state jail felony offense committed on or after September 1, 2011, may be eligible for time credit based on diligent participation in programs such as work, education, and/or treatment. The State Jail Diligent Participation on line application allows sentencing judges to issue credits.
Where may I find more information about this law?
This link will take you to the 81st Regular session of the Texas Legislature and lists the actual House Bill 2649: http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02649F.htm
What if I have forgotten my login ID or my password?
Contact the State Jail Diligent Participation Coordinator by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling (936) 437-6562.
How often do I have to change my password?
You will be prompted to change your password every 60 days.
How do I change the email address that the email notification is being delivered to?
Contact the State Jail Diligent Participation Coordinator by email at email@example.com or by calling (936) 437-6562.
When does an offender appear on my list?
An offender will appear on your list 30 days prior to serving 80% of his sentence.
What does the field “Remaining Days to Update” mean?
The number in this field represents the number of days you have left to grant credits to that particular offender. The offender will be removed from your list 30 days after the original notification date or when you grant credits.
How can I get more participation information on a particular offender?
Click on the “View Additional Info” button on the right side of the Progress Report screen. This will display work, education, vocation, programs and disciplinary information.
How are “days diligently participated” calculated?
Diligent Participation days are defined as “participation in an educational, vocational, treatment or work program while confined in a state jail facility.”
What is the maximum number of days I can credit an offender?
An offender may receive credits equal to the days he diligently participated or 20% of his sentence, whichever total is less.
What does this error message mean? You have entered a number of credits that exceeds offender’s number of maximum credits.
An offender may only receive credits equal to the days he diligently participated or 20% of his sentence, whichever total is less. This number is displayed for you on the report in a sentence that states Offender is eligible to receive 0 – (MAX CREDIT). The max credit is the maximum number of credits you may give as defined above. Enter a number of credits in the displayed range then click SUBMIT.
The court is receiving hard copy requests for diligent participation credits directly from offenders. How are these to be processed?
Beginning August 1, 2012, only progress reports submitted to TDCJ directly from the courts via the web-based system will be processed.